University of California, Riverside

Tobacco Free

Smoke/Tobacco-Free Steering Committee

About the Steering Committee

On January 9, 2012, UC President Mark Yudof announced that the university would be smoke/tobacco-free beginning in January, 2014.

On October 25, 2011, the Smoking Policy Subcommittee of the Occupational Wellness Forum submitted the Smoke-free Policy Proposal.

On May 31, 2012, then-Chancellor Timothy P. White asked Professor Victor G.J. Rodgers to chair a campus-wide steering committee to assist with the implementation of the smoke/tobacco-free policy. The committee's charges were:

  • Coordinating implementation of the UCR Smoke/Tobacco-Free policy.
  • Oversight of the implementation plan and the subcommittees.
  • Identification and procurement of funding.
  • Management of funding for the implementation plan, including communications, signage, cessation programs/resources, education/training and ongoing costs.

On January 9, 2014, UC President Janet Napolitano formally published the UC Policy on the Smoke and Tobacco Free Environment.

Want to make a comment or provide feedback to the members of the committee? Send an email to the group at

Steering Committee Members

Julie Chobdee
Co-Chair — Staff
Wellness Program Coordinator, Human Resources

Dr. Meera Nair
Co-Chair — Faculty
Assistant Professor of Biomedical Sciences, School of Medicine

Manuela Martins-Green
Member — Faculty
Professor of Cell Biology

Prudence Talbot
Member — Faculty
Professor of Cell Biology

Sarah Sharp-Aten
Member — Staff
Assistant Dean, Student & Facility Services, University Extension

Karen McComb
Member — Staff
Senior Director of Student Wellness

Kendall Burks
Member — Staff
Marketing Coordinator, Strategic Communications

Nicole Collins
Member — Staff
Wellness Program Specialist

John Freese
Sub-Chair — Staff
Assistant Chief of Police

Toshio (Tos) Ishida
Member — Staff
Assistant Director, Landscape and Refuse Service, Physical Plant

Susan Marshburn
Member — Staff
Executive Director of Housing Services

Vincent Novoa
Member — Staff
Head of Access Services, University Library

Natalie Penner
Undergraduate Student

Neema Adhami
Graduate Student

Christina Flores
Graduate Student

Victor Rodgers
Advisory Role — Faculty
Department Chair, Professor of Bioengineering

Tim Willette
Consultant — Staff
Director, Institutional Ethics & Compliance

More Information 

General Campus Information

University of California, Riverside
900 University Ave.
Riverside, CA 92521
Tel: (951) 827-1012

Related Links